Packing for Australia: ‘Why I won’t need a cork-hat’

16 Feb

 “When preparing to travel, lay out all your clothes and all your money. Then take half the clothes and twice the money.” – Susan Heller

…If only things were this simple, dear miss Heller.

Departure day for Adelaide, Australia is almost here so I must get on with the single most important part of the whole travelling experience: packing (visa sorted, don’t worry).

I don’t know about you lot but I dread packing (two weeks’ worth of gear for a long weekend anyone? No? I’m on my own?).

Packing is my least favourite aspect of a trip. Working out what to wear for the next two weeks makes my palms sweat and triggers heart palpitations. Don’t get me wrong, normally I’m a good planner. However, when it comes to fashion vs. comfort vs. meeting the airline restrictions choices I fail. Miserably. Which has led to my fair share of embarrassing (ok, funny) airport situations in the past (‘I’m sorry dear but your luggage is way over the weight limit and needs to be repacked’).

I admit it, I’m a total girl when it comes to packing. Will I need yet another pair of trainers? How about an extra pair of flip-flops? The three pairs of jeans! Each matches a different top which makes them ALL absolutely essential! And before I realise my suitcase is so stuffed that I emit strange animal sounds trying to heave it onto the escalator…

So the good news is, I’ve read so much about packing that I could publish a book on the art of packing your suitcase. In practice, let’s be honest, it’s tough.

So where do I start in my attempt to avoid packing-related trouble this time around? For starters, let’s see the things I definitely WILL NOT throw in the suitcase (inspired by the Frommer’s ’10 Items you should never wear when travelling’ list):

  • a bum bag (popular in the 1980’s but let’s face it, it doesn’t look good on anyone)
  • the infamous sandals + socks duo (a definite fashion no-no, also equals fashion suicide)
  • crocs (great for gardening and sailing, not so for anything else)
  • skimpy swimwear (let’s face it, I won’t be modelling for the Sport’s Illustrated Swimwear edition)

Next thing to solve is the PACKING METHOD; don’t laugh, there are quite a few out there. The basic rule, however, is not to neatly fold your items of clothing individually as this way they will crease when compressed.

So what are the options:

  • Roll it (from the bottom up) – backpackers swear by this method
  • Fold it (together) – lay items on top of each other so they overlap and fold. This way you provide extra padding and avoid creases
  • Bundle it – literally too difficult to explain but it basically means stacking all clothes onto each other, placing a soft core in the middle and wrapping the garments over. You end up with a bundle that looks like a pillow, doesn’t waste space and the clothes wrinkle less.

Or do you know what? As my last resort – if all the above fails and all my weeks of research go to waste – I’ll do one last thing: pack nothing (meaning the bare minimum of my passport, the clothes on my back, a camera, my toothbrush and a debit card).

So if you are unlucky enough to spot a cavewoman-resembling chick walking around Adelaide please come and say hello, you might be able to give me some packing tips :).

And how about you? Do you share my fear of packing? Or maybe you have some tips that will help me get through this mammoth task? C’mon, let’s hear it then…

7 Responses to “Packing for Australia: ‘Why I won’t need a cork-hat’”

  1. drew February 17, 2012 at 5:38 am #

    My own personal take on the rule you mentioned is to take double the Tshirts and underwear and half everything else (pants, pullovers, shoes).
    It’s sunny summer here though, you won’t need any bulky winter wear.

    • getmetoadelaide February 17, 2012 at 9:35 am #

      Hey Drew, Thanks mate. Great advice, however, you’re forgetting one important fact: I’m a GIRL :). It’s not so much about the Tshirts.. I need to take into account all the summer dresses, skirts, shorts, matching singlets, make-up, toiletries… (Oh no, those heart palpitations again!) 🙂 I’m due to solve my dilemma by tomorrow (taking off in the evening) so keep your fingers crossed for me please. Cheers mate!

  2. Steve Supple February 17, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    Welcome to Adelaide. Such a great idea using social media to let us know you’re coming. I’m sure you won’t have any problem finding someone to show you around.
    Between all the Universities, events, beaches & places to visit, I reckon you might to busy. Have a great time.
    Steve

    • getmetoadelaide February 18, 2012 at 10:59 am #

      Thanks Steve. I’m so much looking forward to this experience. Stay tuned, a lot to come! 🙂

  3. StudyAdelaide Team February 20, 2012 at 2:45 am #

    Great to meet you and Owen with Michaela today! Welcome to sunny Adelaide you will have a blast, and we look forward to following your adventures through the hills of Adelaide, wineries of Barossa and the excitement of Aussie rules football…..

  4. Moira February 25, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

    Don’t forget to come to Glenelg, it’s just a quick tram ride from the city.

    • getmetoadelaide February 25, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

      Hey Moira, Thanks for the tip. You’ll be please do know Glenelg is planned for today, we’re off to see the dolphins from there. Yay!

Leave a Reply

